REVIEW: “THE HARDER THEY FALL” by Sandrine Gasq-Dion

the harder they fall

TITLE: The harder they fall
AUTHOR: Sandrine Gasq-Dion
PUBLISHER: Skull Blaster Publishing
COVER ARTIST: Jay Aheer
GENRE: Paranormal
E-BOOK: Yes
PRICE: $ 3,99 e-book on Amazon
LENGHT: 221 pages
RELEASE DATE: June 30th

 

BLURB: The Youngblood children have faced many crises in their young lives, including battling the danger and intrigue that come with carrying on the once-notorious Damon Santorno’s bloodline. But navigating love as teenagers has its own perils, especially when jealousy and revenge decide to crash the big dance. In other words, just another slice of Santorno life. As the kids stumble their way through high school, it seems everyone has caught the love bug. Damon Youngblood is ready to commit completely and take the next step with Tyler Dion. Damon’s childhood friend, Mark Andrews, thinks he’s found love — until he gets sucker-punched when he discovers that his boyfriend has a pretty serious skeleton hanging in that closet he came out of. Enter Paul Greystone. He puts the ‘stud’ in student, and while Mark’s hormones scream ‘yes,’ his heart cautions ‘not again.’ Besides, getting through Paul’s defenses is like dealing with a raging bull with a suit of armor thrown in for good measure. Well, they DO say, the bigger they are, the harder they fall.

WARNING: This book is part of a series. This book contains homosexual relations, crude language and violence. It is preceded by The Medicine and The Mob and An Eye for an Eye.

 

FedericaI really like a Sandrine Gasq-Dion books and I am trying to read everything she writes, however, I’m sorry to say that this one was not one of my favourites.
Don’t get me wrong, I liked it but felt something was missing……
The cover is beautiful and certainly captures your attention, Jay Aheer is a fabulous cover artist. One of the main reasons why I read Sandrine’s books is how she develops her characters. We see all our favourites reappearing and interconnecting in the new stories, for me, it makes perfect reading. However, as much as I liked David Lyon’s from the Assassin/Shifter Series, I just didn’t like Tanner, sorry but true. I don’t do spoilers and have no wish to spoil the enjoyment of the three readers who haven’t read the book so far (lol), so I hope you will forgive me. I’m hoping he’s going to redeem himself in the next book, we shall see? As always, the characters are well developed, it’s like meeting old friends and I think a serious plus point for the author. But this time? well, I thought that the relationships were happening too fast, especially Mark and Paul’s and therefore lost the believability factor. Personally, I prefer the slow approach but I can understand where the author is coming from on this – so many characters and couples now featuring, it’s hard to keep track and as an author, she wants to keep the continuity going, so I do understand. The Youngblood Clan never disappoints, it’s an amazing family. I’ll let you into a little secret – I had to dust off the family tree chart so I could remember who was who and how they were related – the family just’s bigger and bigger! I’m putting the link below, if you are like me, it may help –

You can find it here https://sites.google.com/site/assassinshiftertree/

I’m really looking forward to the next book in this wonderful series, hopefully it won’t be too long?

quattro

Leave a Reply

