REVIEW: “AGAINST THE GRAIN” by Charlie Cochet

AgainstTheGrainLG

TITLE: Against the Grain
AUTHOR: Charlie Cochet
PUBLISHER: Dreamspinner Press
COVER ARTIST: L.C. Chase
GENRE: Paranormal
SERIES: Third, book #5
E-BOOK: Yes
PAPERBACK: Yes
PRICE: $ 6,99 e-book on Dreamspinner Press Store
LENGHT: 220 pages
RELEASE DATE: August 3th

 

BLURB: As the fiercest Defense Agent at the THIRDS, Destructive Delta’s Ash Keeler is foul-mouthed and foul-tempered. But his hard-lined approach always yields results, evident by his recent infiltration of the Coalition. Thanks to Ash’s skills and the help of his team, they finally put an end to the murdering extremist group for good, though not before Ash takes a bullet to save teammate Cael Maddock. As a result, Ash’s secrets start to surface, and he can no longer ignore what’s in his heart.

Cael Maddock is no stranger to heartache. As a Recon Agent for Destructive Delta, he has successfully maneuvered through the urban jungle that is New York City, picking up his own scars along the way. Yet nothing he’s ever faced has been more of a challenge than the heart of Ash Keeler, his supposedly straight teammate. Being in love isn’t the only danger he and Ash face as wounds reopen and new secrets emerge, forcing them to question old loyalties.

 

FedericaWithout doubt one of the best paranormal series that I have ever read! I’ve waited long and hard for this book (book 5 in the series). I couldn’t wait to see what our Thirds have been up to?
Fans of Dex and Sloane may be a little disappointed because they are not the front-runners this time and we are going to have to wait before the dynamics of Sloane marking Dex, maybe next book? Finally, it’s Ash and Cael’s turn. I’ve waited through four books for their story, but trust me on this one, it was worth it! even though my heart will always be with Dex and Sloan. One thing about Ms Cochet that you can always rely on, is the fact that she never disappoints, ever!
Every book she writes in this series, we learn more facts on our boys. The love story is well built, I had already imagined what would happen, or hoped what would have happened, but reading it was something else – amazing.
There is no doubt that Ash is the protagonist in this book – a strong and tough character, well with everyone else except the man he has loved for years, but he doesn’t have the courage to live this love he has. An old wound from the past restrains him. However, there will be a time when he can no longer take a step back, his need to protect Cael is stronger than any fear. His feelings for Cael are destabilishing and it could threaten everything if he can’t open up and confide his feelings and heart. Cael has always been the golden boy, but he has scars left from a bad relationship some time ago. He is the youngest in the family and is truly loved by his father and brother, he’s sweet and lively. Because of his past, he could let his demons rule him but he’s willing to fight for the man he loves after 5 years of silence.
Our boys never have a moment of peace with the twists and turns. The book was very fast paced and kept me glued to the pages. In the previous books, apart from Dex and Sloane, we were shown the characters and the world in which they lived, that set up this story so nicely. Here, the focus was more on Ash and Cael and as I have said, we have waited a long time, though the plot is so very rich, it does steal a little of the limelight on Ash and Cael. I will not add any more spoilers, you will have to read it yourselves. Meanwhile, I look forward to the next book – Calvin and Hobbs story, let’s hope I don’t have to wait too long?

 

cinque

***I would like to thank the author for the privilege and opportunity of reviewing this ARC. My review was an honest opinion of the book***

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s