AUDIO TOUR: “JOHNNIE” by Cardeno C.

Johnnie-Audio-Banner-copy

johnnie

TITLE: Johnnie
AUTHOR: Cardeno C.
PUBLISHER: The romance Author LLC
GENRE: Paranormal
SERIES: Siphon, Book 1
NARRATED BY: Greg Tremblay
AUDIO BOOK
PRICE: $ 19,95 on Audible
LENGHT: 5 hrs and 50 mins
RELEASE DATE: July 6th

 

BLURB: A premier lion shifter, Hugh Landry dedicates his life to leading the Berk pride with strength and confidence. Hundreds of people depend on Hugh for safety, success, and happiness. And at over a century old, with more power than can be contained in one body, Hugh relies on a Siphon lion shifter to carry his excess force. When the Siphon endangers himself and therefore the pride, Hugh must pay attention to the man who has been his silent shadow for a decade.  

lorraineI’m a real “newbie” when it comes to audiobooks (this only being my second) so you will have to give me a bit of slack, if I don’t do this audiobook justice.
Firstly, I learnt a very valuable lesson – for the safety of other road users, do not listen whilst driving! Please let me explain – being a Brit, I’m a sucker for accents and the narrator’s voice (Greg Tremblay) is very distracting to say the least, if I say it “sounded like liquid sex”, I’m sure that you will now understand my warning about driving and listening at the same time, I found his voice mesmerising and therefore extremely distracting. So heed my warning, especially us Brits.

Hugh is Premier Lion of the Pack. He’s very powerful, a great leader and because of his commitment to the Pack, it’s flourishing. With so much power, Premier Lions need and have a Siphon. Basically, Siphon’s, siphon off the power from the Premier Lion’s which then keeps them stablised. Though Hugh always puts the Pack first, his Siphon (Johnnie) doesn’t get the same treatment, in fact, Hugh doesn’t consider him at all!
This is where the author really showed off his writing talent because I thought Hugh to be a pretty despicable person and had to keep reminding myself that this was an audiobook and not reality! so well done author.
Johnnie (Hugh’s Siphon) was one of the most lovely and enchanting characters that I have read, the complete contrast to Hugh. His life has always been pretty crappy – for goodness sake! he hadn’t even been given a name until he spoke to Hugh about it! Hugh treats Johnnie abysmally, but Johnnie is not weak, his strength comes from within, so he starts to assert himself and points things out to Hugh. He notices things that others don’t and starts to get Hugh to notice too. It’s a struggle though, Hugh and the Pack only think of Johnnie as a Siphon, not as a person of worth and my heart bled for him – he is worth so much more!
Hugh eventually “man’s up” or should that read “lion’s up” (lol) and finally realises that he is going to have to get to know Johnnie as a person, not just as someone to siphon off his power – FINALLY HE GETS IT! I was seriously thinking about getting a hammer and knocking some sense into him.

For me, Cardeno C is the “King of Fluff” and I love my fluff, but this was different. It was very slow building, there was certainly no insta-love but we did get there eventually. I’m Team Johnnie all the way on this one, Team Hugh? not so much.
Overall, I did enjoy it but for me, Cardeno C has written better, so it’s 4* from me.

quattro

One thought on “AUDIO TOUR: “JOHNNIE” by Cardeno C.

Leave a Reply

