REVIEW: “ELEMENTS OF RETROFIT” by N.R. Walker

51D260qUpYL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

TITLE: Elements of Retrofit
AUTHOR: N.R. Walker
PUBLISHER: Pride Publishing
COVER ARTIST: Posh Gosh
GENRE: Contemporary
E-BOOK: Yes
SERIES: Thomas Elkin: book 1
PRICE: $ 4,19 e-book on Amazon
LENGHT: 124 pages
RELEASE DATE: August 3th, 2015

 

BLURB: Generation versus generation, traditional versus contemporary, these men are about to learn a lesson in architecture and love. Can they prove that the old and new can be the perfect design?
A successful New York architect, Thomas Elkin almost has it all. Coming out as gay and ending his marriage before his fortieth birthday, he needed to start living his life. Now, four years later, with his relationship with his son back on track, and after a few short-lived romances, this esteemed traditional draftsman thinks he knows everything about architecture, about life.
Cooper Jones, twenty-two years old, is about to take the architect world by storm. Talented, professional, driven and completely infuriating, Cooper is the definition of Generation Y.
Starting an internship working with Thomas, Cooper is about to knock Tom’s world off its axis. Tom can teach Cooper about the architecture industry, but Cooper is about to teach Tom what it means to live.

lorraineFirstly, let me say that I loved the Dedication and I would like to be able to say that I sympathise, but I would be lying – Yes, I am sorry for her husband but I’m so happy for her readers!
I knew immediately that Ms Walker and I were destined to have a long and successful life together – her writing, me reading. She really is a marvellous storyteller.
This book was the ultimate in deliciousness, the Author kept her readers on edge while the two MCs skirted around each other = wonderful reading.
Thomas Elkin is a iconic figure in the World of Architecture, he has it all except someone to love him for being “Tom”. He meets Cooper, a much younger version of himself when he was just beginning his architecture career, Cooper is really, really talented and is hoping to join Thomas’s prestigious firm full time.
The dilemma for Tom is this – does he cross a professional and personal limit to explore his feelings further, for someone who works for him, is not only the same age as his son but also his son’s friend from schooldays?
The way the Author handled the whole situation was expertly executed – I got it immediately, I was in Tom’s head with him trying to analyse his feelings and more importantly, which way to go forward! And forward they went. Delicately slow pace, neither sure of each other’s feelings and scared of the commitment it would bring, as I said previously, absolute deliciousness, I couldn’t get enough of these two.
But I must not forget Jennifer, Tom’s unflappable-but-so-astute PA and her granddaughter who was going to be the first broccoli singing in a line of vegetables – classic!
This was so good that I’ve already got books 2 and 3 waiting to be read and read them, I will. I need to know where their journey is going to go, I don’t suppose for one second that it’s going to be a trouble free journey, but we shall see!

Highly, highly recommended.

infinito 5e

****I would like to thank the Author for the opportunity and privilege of reading this ARC. My review was an honest opinion of the book****

 

 

One thought on “REVIEW: “ELEMENTS OF RETROFIT” by N.R. Walker

Leave a Reply

