REVIEW: “SCORCHED EDGES” by L.M. Somerton

513nduveKBL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

TITLE: Scorched Edges
AUTHOR: L.M. Somerton
PUBLISHER: Pride Publishing
GENRE:  BDSM
SERIES: Tales from the Edges, #6
E-BOOK:yes
COVER ARTIST: Posh Gosh
LENGTH: 154 pages
RELEASE DATE: September 8th, 2015

 

BLURB: Love forged in fire is unassailable.

Fireman Salter Beauman, Beau to his friends, has had his eye on cute Marty Standish ever since he helped rescue Marty and his boss from the bombed out rubble of Temple Church. An analyst for the security services, Marty is cute, geeky and submissive through and through—even if he doesn’t know it yet.
With a serial fire starter making inroads into Beau’s life expectancy, he decides that there is no time to waste and introduces Marty to the D/s lifestyle. Marty responds with wide eyes, an insatiable desire to learn and the ability to turn Beau on with nothing more than a wiggle of his slim hips.
But Beau has a second, far more malevolent admirer. ‘See me dance’ is the message left at a series of increasingly dangerous fires. Beau and Marty must work together to catch a psychotic arsonist before their love goes up in flames. Literally.

 

lorraineThis is book 6 in the tales of The Edge Series. If you haven’t read any of the previous books in this series, don’t worry, it can be read very successfully as a stand alone.
The Edge’s clientele and indeed the Management themselves, don’t lead easy going mundane lives, hence why we are now on Book 6, everyone has a story to tell and the Author loves to deliver their tales with a certain relish that is a joy to read in the books that I have read so far.
This time around its Beau’s storyline, he’s a firefighter for his day job and 100% Dom when he visits and enjoys the facilities of The Edge after work hours. Straight away I was hooked, come on… a fireman and BDSM!
The blurb really does do the book justice, so I won’t repeat but I will add some thoughts and personal observations –
I really liked the premise of the storyline and shivers certainly went down my spine when reading The Prologue, it felt so real that I was horrified but morbidly fascinated to see how the Author would direct her storyline?
And direct it, she did. At times I was in the edge of my seat and because of the situation with the Arsonist, things between Beau and Marty happen pretty fast. Now that worked well for me, I love a man who takes control and sets the pace and with Beau’s dominance, lovely, geeky Marty fell into his calling of submissive, with an ease, that was both sexy and a pleasure to read, LM Somerton was delivering all the way for me.
Now I don’t do spoilers, but one statement made about Marty, made me angry and therefore spoilt my enjoyment. He didn’t deserve that, he deserved so much more. I suddenly started to see the book differently, did I imagine the passion between Beau and Marty? Was it all fake? Did I read something into the two of them, that wasn’t there but I wanted it to be there? And I started to resent Beau for it. I wish the Author had never included it, I know it’s fiction but I take my reading very seriously and that one statement spoiled my enjoyment of this good storyline. Others may read it and take it in the context that maybe it was meant to be? I don’t know, but for me, it bought down my rating from 5* to 4*.
infinito 4

 

One thought on “REVIEW: “SCORCHED EDGES” by L.M. Somerton

Leave a Reply

