REVIEW: “A SHOOTING STAR” by Joe Cosentino

 

ShootingStar[A]LG
TITLE: A shooting star
AUTHOR: Joe Cosentino
PUBLISHER: Dreampsinner Press
GENRE:  Contemporary Romance
SERIES: In My hearth #2
E-BOOK:yes
PRICE: $ 4,99 e-book on Dreamspinner store
LENGTH: 98 pages
RELEASE DATE: September 2nd, 2015

 

BLURB: On the eve of the best night of his life, winning an Academy Award, Jonathan Bello thinks back to his one great love, David Star.

Flipping back the pages of time, Jonathan recalls his handsome, muscular, and charismatic college roommate. Since Jonathan was a freshman and David a senior in the Theatre Department, David took Jonathan under his wing and molded him, not only as an actor but as a lover. With every wonderful new adventure, David left his joyful mark on anyone with whom they came in contact, but Jonathan soon uncovered David’s dark past, leading to a shocking event. Undaunted, Jonathan celebrates the captivating man who will always hold a special place in his heart.

A Bittersweet Dreams title: It’s an unfortunate truth: love doesn’t always conquer all. Regardless of its strength, sometimes fate intervenes, tragedy strikes, or forces conspire against it. These stories of romance do not offer a traditional happy ending, but the strong and enduring love will still touch your heart and maybe move you to tears.

 

lorraineThis book lit the nighttime sky with shooting stars galore, so how do you rate/review a book that is just so heart-wrenchingly beautiful, that no words I possess in my vocabulary, would do it justice? That is my first dilemma! My second? I’ve already given 5* to the two previous books that I have read by this amazing, gifted Author and this bitter sweet

chef-d’oeuvre, merits a higher, superior rating but here at threebooksovertherainbow, we plateaued at a 5 star maximum. So I hope you can see my difficulty?

So while I think through my predicament, I’m going to share my thoughts on the storyline (without spoilers and giving anything away – the blurb covers it remarkably well) while waiting for inspiration to materialise.

This short but powerful story is about hope, love and aspirations – a yearning that may or may not, transpire. I got the impression that this Author is very vigilant in his observations of people and then he personifies them in his writing, with a certain embellishment, that is so entertaining to read. The whole book is littered with humour, that is natural but so engaging.

David takes young Jonathan under his wing right from the very beginning and steers him in the right direction on learning how to read people and therefore enhancing his future acting abilities. They become firm friends and this develops into so much more for Jonathan, but David has secrets! Where does he go when he leaves Jonathan at night? What influence has David’s father got over his life? Is David really the brightest star in the sky, shining brightly to show people the right way to go? or is Jonathan blinkered by the bright light and being led like a month to the flame – only to get burnt? And then there’s Barry. For me, he stole the show! – I truly doted on him, relishing in his dependability – for me, he shone brighter than the leading stars.

Again Joe Cosentino drew me into his wonderful world of part fact/part fiction/loosely based on his own experiences world – a world as a reader I love to enter, time and time again. Maybe not the ending that I hoped for, but then again on reflection, could it have ended any other way? Most probably not.

My predicament is still here, I haven’t solved it and most probably never will. Read and delight in this bitter sweet pleasure that this Author offers and maybe leave your own review, to do this book justice, as I’ve failed in my effort to do so.

infinito 5e
****I would like to thank the Author for the opportunity and privilege of reading this ARC. My review was an honest opinion of the book****

 

One thought on “REVIEW: “A SHOOTING STAR” by Joe Cosentino

Leave a Reply

