REVIEW: “WHAT HAPPENS AT CHRISTMAS” by Jay Northcote

WhatHappensXmas_cover

TITLE: What happens at Christmas
AUTHOR: Jay Northcote
PUBLISHER: Jaybird Press (self published)
COVER ARTIST: Garrett Leigh
GENRE:  Contemporary Romance
E-BOOK:yes
PRICE: € 2.99 on Amazon
LENGTH: 37.000 words
RELEASE DATE: 19th November 2015

 

BLURB: When two friends pose as boyfriends, could what happens at Christmas turn into something more?

Justin is recently and unhappily single. Christmas is coming, and he doesn’t want to face his ex alone at their office party. So Sean—Justin’s best mate and long-time secret crush—volunteers to go with him and pretend to be his new flame.

Sean has always lusted after Justin from afar, but there’s never been a good opportunity to ask him for more than friendship. Posing as Justin’s boyfriend isn’t a chore, and if Justin wants to rebound onto him, Sean’s more than willing. At the party pretence and reality blur, and a kiss on the dance floor leads to a night of passion.

In the aftermath, they both assume it was a one-time thing until fate intervenes. Stuck together in London over the holidays, they give in to temptation again. But what happens at Christmas stays at Christmas… right?

 

lorraineOh, Jingle bells, jingle bells, Jingle all the way….
What? Too early? Let me tell you…this book jingled my bells all the way! Great way to get into the holidays spirit but I could easily reread this sitting on a beach with the sun blazing down, it was that good!
Another one of our reviewers, got her hands on this little gem of a present first, but hey, my sleigh is bigger than hers (yep, I’m claiming bragging rights here) and what better way, with Halloween and Bonfire Night over with, to get into the spirit of Christmas, than Jay Northcote?
Father Christmas certainly delivered early with this storyline – pretend boyfriends that decide they don’t have to pretend? If that’s not a winner? then I don’t know what is!
The premise of the story is very simple, the execution of it by the Author, was definitely not. She delivered a sizzling, hot, sexy story with two wonderful MCs – Justin and Sean.
I don’t do spoilers normally, but as its Christmas(ish), so I’ll let you in on a little secret….not only does Sean lust after Justin, but Justin lusts after Sean! When they eventually unwrap each other **starts to fan herself thinking about it** I thought I’d gone to Santa’s Heaven, it was a heavenly delight to read. Normally, I could very easily knock other MCs head-together, shouting at them “talk! get your act together” but not here, not with Justin and Sean, I wanted that slow, sexual burn that built up between them, it sizzled and then exploded into an inferno of love! It was magical. The all important “Christmas Magic” that makes Christmas so special, was present here throughout the entire book, the Author didn’t need any elves to help her, she has enough of her own magic to deliver all on her own and boy-oh-boy did she!
Not going to add anything else (the blurb covers the storyline extremely well) except for one thing. Need a Secret Santa present? A stocking filler for your best friend? A little treat for yourself under the tree? Get this! If it’s for yourself, you will love it and if it’s for a friend, they will be indebted to you by buying them such a wonderful book.
Thank you Author, you made this story, so special.
Five big, shiny ringing bell stars from me.
infinito 5e
***I would like to thank the author for the privilege and opportunity of reviewing this ARC. My review was an honest opinion of the book***
EXCERPT:

Justin’s phone chimed with a text, interrupting Sean’s train of thought.

Justin picked up his phone to read the message. “Ugh.” He put the phone back down without typing a reply and ran his hands through his hair.

“What’s up?”

Justin sighed. “It’s our work Christmas party next weekend. I’ve already got a ticket, and nearly everyone in the office goes, but it’s for partners as well. One of my co-workers, Jess, is bugging me to come, but I can’t face it. I bet Andy’s going to bring his new boyfriend. I know he’s a shit and I shouldn’t let him get to me, but the thought of him parading around with my replacement, and me being there on my own, isn’t very appealing.”

“Is it too late to find someone to take?”

“No, they don’t need final numbers till Monday.”

“Well, then. Take someone else and flirt like crazy in front of him. Show him you can do better and that you’ve already moved on.”

“But I’m not ready to date. It’s only been two weeks, and I’m still at the feeling-sorry-for-myself stage.”

“I’ll go with you,” Sean offered. “I could be your date. We could pretend we’ve got together and are a couple now.”

“Yeah?” Justin looked thoughtful. “Are you sure?”

Duh. It would hardly be much of a sacrifice to flirt with Justin all night. It would actually be a relief not to have to hide the way he felt for a change.

“Sure,” Sean replied. “I think I can manage to fake that I’m arse-over-tit infatuated with you. As long as it’s only for a few hours.”

“Gee, thanks.” Justin rolled his eyes. “You really know how to make an already-wounded ego feel better. But if you’re up for it, we should totally do it. Andy was always jealous of you before you went away. He saw you as competition because we lived together and were so close. I’d love to see his face when I walk in with you on my arm. I think he’ll hate it even if he’s moved on.”

“Okay.” Sean rubbed his hands together, excited at the prospect of getting to piss off Andy. “Let’s do it! Text your friend Jess back and tell her you’re in—with a hot date.”

Author Bio:

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England. He comes from a family of writers, but always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed him by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, Jay decided to try and write a short story—just to see if he could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary romance about men who fall in love with other men. He has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and also self-publishes under the imprint Jaybird Press. Many of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is transgender and was formerly known as she/her.

www.jaynorthcote.com

Twitter

Facebook profile

Facebook Author Page

Newsletter

Jay’s books

 

One thought on “REVIEW: “WHAT HAPPENS AT CHRISTMAS” by Jay Northcote

Leave a Reply

