REVIEW: “THE SECRET HISTORY OF ANOTHER ROME” by Bear

bear

TITLE: The secret history of another Rome
AUTHOR: Bear
PUBLISHER: Kellan publishing
GENRE: historical
E-BOOK: Yes
PRICE: $ 11.38 e-book on Amazon
LENGHT: 389 pages
RELEASE DATE: June 4th, 2015

 

BLURB: In the mid-2600s, Ranulf becomes Supreme Pontiff of the Empire of Rome at Alexandria, a patriarchy run by priest-bureaucrats called Librarians. After twenty-two years on the throne, Ranulf’s memories flood back to him, from the time he moved to Alexandria with his mother to his present situation resulting from his choices, his training and his relationships. Ranulf’s life has been a quest for truth, not the half-truths of the Librarians and their Secret History, but an understanding of how action rather than static dogma is the path to the future. Guided by mysterious strangers from another time and his own innate curiosity, Ranulf searches for this understanding. Why do the Librarians hide facts from their ruler? What will Ranulf do as he gradually uncovers the truth? How will he respond when he finally understands?

 

lorraine

History geek?  with a slight dash of OCD for intricate detailing?  Then I’ve found the perfect book for you.

I’m going to be completely honest here and say that this was not a easy read for me, sometimes I got lost in the so intricate detailing and certain parts also went straight over my head –  I’ve never said I have a high IQ!  But having said that, it was clever, articulate and very interesting.

This would come under the category of AV (alternative universe).  Emperor Ranulf has spent his life seeking the truth.  Is what the Librarians tell him, the truth?  and if not?  why would they lie?  As we progress through the book, we see how Ranulf progresses too, firstly as a person and then as Supreme Pontiff.

This is not a romance, but there is love.  The word building by the Author is phenomenal (even though it tested my intelligence at times), the descriptive detailing and research that the Author must have done, is truly amazing and very thought provoking – you will need to read it yourselves to fully understand what I’m trying to convey.

Overall, though I did get a bit bogged down at times and had to reread certain parts to fully understand where the Author was taking us on this journey, I’m glad I persevered, it gave me reason to ponder and question-  and I liked that.

4 non-secret stars from me.

infinito 4

****I would like to thank the author for the opportunity and privilege of reviewing this ARC. My opinions of this book, were entirely my own.****

One thought on “REVIEW: “THE SECRET HISTORY OF ANOTHER ROME” by Bear

Leave a Reply

