REVIEW: “THE LAW OF ATTRACTION” by Jay Northcote

12642775_10205324448982621_5943944373523401248_n
TITLE: The Law of Attraction
AUTHOR: Jay Northcote
COVER ART: Garrett  Leigh
PUBLISHER: Jaybird Press
GENRE:  Contemporary
E-BOOK: yes
PRICE: $ 4.03 e-book on Amazon
LENGTH: 173 pages
RELEASE DATE: 5th February 2016

 

BLURB: When a professional relationship turns personal, it’s impossible to resist the law of attraction.
Alec Rowland is a high-flying lawyer in a London firm whose career is his life. He doesn’t have time for relationships and his sexuality is a closely guarded secret. After picking up a cute guy on a Friday night, Alec’s world is rocked to its foundations when his one night stand shows up in the office on Monday morning—as the new temp on his team.
Ed Piper is desperate to prove himself in his new job. The last thing he needs is to be distracted by a crush on his boss. It’s hard to ignore the attraction he feels, even though Alec’s a difficult bastard to work for.
Both men strive to maintain a professional relationship, but tempers fray, passions ignite, and soon they’re both falling hard and fast. If they’re ever going to find a way to be together, Alec needs to be honest about who he really is because Ed won’t go back in the closet for anyone

 

FrancescaNow where do I begin?  Obviously at the beginning where this journey started for me and with me screaming “Mine!”.  No, I didn’t meet my fated Mate (shame, I know) but as soon as I saw the cover and read the blurb, I knew insistently that I had to contact the author for two reasons.  Firstly as a reader/blogger, I knew I was going to love it without actually having read it! and then secondly, as a Translator, it immediately struck me how good this was for the  Italian Market, they would love it –  and my instincts have never me down yet!

My dream, has always been to be a Lawyer.  Alas, it never happened, but that has never stopped me from being interested in anything to do with the Law, especially from a reading point of view and if the novel is set within a Law Firm environment, I’m a very happy reader.

I’ve decided not to give anything away and definitely no spoilers.  This story is just so beautiful and well written, that I don’t want to mar your enjoyment of finding out for yourselves and can I suggest that you read with a special cup of hot chocolate or even a glass of wine?

Having said that, I also find I have a need to tell you something about it….it would be unfair of me not too.

So, to tempt you further, let me say that The Law of Attraction is definitely worth reading, not only are the characters extremely credible and therefore so likeable, but the way the author penned her storyline was like liquid magic, she managed to bring everything to life and make this beautiful love story become real.

Another real strength of this storyline is its reality, you loose yourself so much, that you forget it’s not real but fiction, which again shows us the true talent of Jay Northcote and why she is one of my favourite authors.

I really liked the length of Alec’s and Ed’s story (and if being really honest, wished it had never ended, but as they say (“all good things have to come to an end”), her natural ability ensured that it was never repetitive and the sex scenes?  oh  wow!  definitely explicit but never, ever vulgar – in fact, I would say that they were the perfect accompaniment to the love and strength of the two MCs.

It was beautiful to read and I cannot recommend it enough (remember the hot chocolate or wine).

Five attractive, stunningly beautiful stars from me.

infinito 5e

 

**** The ARC was provided by the author in exchange of an honest review.****

 

Website & Blog: www.jaynorthcote.com

Amazon Author PageJay Northcote

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dellamere

Facebook Pagehttps://www.facebook.com/jaynorthcotefiction/?fref=ts

Twitter: @Jay_Northcote

Goodreadshttps://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7302303.Jay_Northcote?from_search=true&search_version=service

 

Leave a Reply

