REVIEW: “THE LAST FAVOR” by Meg Harding

LastFavor[The]

TITLE: The Last Favor
AUTHOR: Meg Harding
COVER DESIGN: Bree Archer
PUBLISHER: Dreamspinner
GENRE: Contemporary
E-BOOK: Yes
PRICE: $ 4,99 e-book on Dreamspinner store
LENGHT: 124 pages
RELEASE DATE: 6th April 2016

BLURB: Three years ago Andrew Wilson and Flynn Barnett were in a relationship, until Flynn made a mistake that nearly cost Andrew his life. Andrew walked away from the FBI, his home, and his partner, and started over back in Montreal, running a restaurant.

Fast forward to the present and Andrew is knee-deep in preparations for his sister’s wedding. When an ex-colleague calls to ask for one last favor, the last person he expects to walk through his door is Flynn, in need of a place to stay. Only thing is, Andrew can’t say no.

Two weeks of wedding hijinks bring back all the old feelings that have simmered below the surface. Caught in a cycle of fighting and making up, the two men try to figure out if there’s anything they can salvage. And even if there is, Andrew can’t be sure this time will be any different.

12833361_10205887579250242_1339245014_n

Meg Harding is a new author for me, but I got intrigued reading the blurb, and I’m so glad I gave it a go. I enjoyed this story a lot. The plotline might be familiar to hardcore MM readers, but the writer gave the story and the characters enough twists that a well-known idea became fresh and entertaining.

I like the structure of the story. The idea of introducing Andy and Flynn’s relationship by showing episodes from their past is great. However, I would have liked to read more… it was just so good… I know, greedy me… These episodes work as a prologue and they lead to the present day storyline, which is told in the present tense. The writing is consistent and it is just my personal preference that I’m not a huge fan of said writing style. Andy and Flynn are the kind of couple I fell for very easily. I was rooting for them from the first moment and enjoyed the way they were trying to resolve all their problems, feeling their love for each other right away. Their chemistry is great, their connection deep and very real, and the family relations portrayed here very lifelike. I don’t particularly like wedding preparations and found some parts of the side-story frustrating but I also see the purpose behind it.

This is a very entertaining and heartwarming story and I read it in one sitting. If you like fun, loveable characters, second chances, and true connection, this a great story for you!

 

infinito 4

**** The ARC was provided by Dreamspinner Press in Exchange of an honest review.****

 

Leave a Reply

