INTERVIEW: JESSICA LEE

 

jessica lee

 

Jessica Lee was one of the first m/m romance authors that I read and started my addiction, I believe that I’ve read every book she has published, so I’m really excited and in slight awe also, to be in a position to ask her about her latest book and some questions.

 

Hello Jessica and welcome.

To get to know you as a person and as a writer, I thought we would start with some fun little ice-breakers, so here goes –

What is your favourite food?

Let me start by saying how honoured I am to have been asked to be interviewed. And I’m so thrilled to have been one of your first m/m authors to introduce to the genre. It is truly my pleasure to be here, Lorraine. Thank you so much!

Sooo, my favourite food… I would have to say, Italian. Especially spicy Italian. I adore a great spicy marina sauce smothered over fried mozzarella. Yum!!

Sounds good to me.

So, are you a good cook then? Or is making your morning coffee your limit?

LOL How did you know I suck at cooking?

If you were a man, who would you like to be?

Good question… I would be Henry Cavill. Seriously. With that face and body, I would never leave my house. Hehehe.

Who is your favourite actor?

Can I use Henry again?

Favourite film?

That’s such a tough question. But the first one that comes to mind is Somewhere in Time with Jane Seymour and Christopher Reeve. The soundtrack is pure romance: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJLeWG_q1fU

What kind of music do you like?

I enjoy a variety of genres. But during the day, I’m usually listening to Top 40 hits on the car radio.

Favourite wild animal?

I really love the big cats: Panthers, Cheetahs, lions, jaguars. They are so majestic. But as you can tell in with my KinKaid Wolf Pack Series, I find wolves amazing as well.

And of course, your favourite pet?

I grew always have a dog in the house, and I love them. But for the last several years, we have had cats. My husband is a cat lover.

Social Network – nightmare or a great tool? 

Oh my, it can totally be both. LOL I can lose so many hours of my day inside of Facebook.

 

Thank you Jessica that was very illuminating, now on to some more serious questions.

How did you’ve become a writer – what inspired you to do so?

I discovered paranormal romance through Karen Marie Moning’s novels and completely fell in love with the genre. Then after my son was born, and I decreased my work hours to be home with him, my husband encouraged me to use some of that time to try my hand at writing my own book. And as they say, the rest is history.

Can you tell us a little about the books you write and also your latest release “Sins of a Wolf”?

As I mentioned, I love paranormal romance. Especially vampires and shapeshifters. I enjoy writing adventures and the world building that’s involved. For me, reading and writing is an escape from the everyday world, and I hope that’s what my readers find inside my stories.

My latest release in the KinKaid Wolf Pack world involve two new heroes, Aydin and Sin. Aydin possesses a wonderful heart, but he can’t seem to stay out of trouble. Sin is a former Green Beret, who in his efforts to avoid the past and hide from the truth, finds himself in a whole new world he never knew existed. Only this time, no matter how hard he runs, there’s no escaping destiny.

Sins of a Wolf is the fourth book in the KinKaid Wolf Pack Series, do you plan to continue this series and if so, when can readers expect to see the next one on their shelves?

I do think there is at least one more story brewing inside my head for the KinKaid Wolf Pack. As far as a date, I’m not sure when I’ll be getting back to the series. I’m currently on deadline for a NA contemporary m/m that I’m writing for Entangled Publishing. So keep your eyes open for that coming later on this year.

What is your personal favourite book that you have written and why?

I think most authors would say all of their books are their favourites. lol We fall in love with the characters, cry, and celebrate with them. Because of that, it makes it so hard to choose. But if I had to pick one that stood out a little more, it would probably be Undying Desire, A novel of the Enclave. I enjoyed developing Guerin’s and Eve’s character very much—he, the badass alpha sexual, and she, the tough as nails, yet bighearted, Dominatrix. Great fun!

Any rituals that you do to inspire you to write?

Coffee is a big one! I must brew myself a steaming cup of coffee to have at my side when I write. Plus, I like to find a song that speaks to me. One that reflects the emotions I feel between my characters. Once I find that perfect song, I like to put it on repeat and play it over and over softly while I write.

You have a young family and a husband who still loves you enough to take you on “date nights”, how do you fit it all in?

I try, let me repeat, I try to keep a schedule where I write during the day before I have to pick my son up from school. Then if I can, I’ll put in a little more work on my book before my husband arrives home from work. If I’ve been disciplined about my work schedule, we can have our family time at dinner, plus the occasional date night. Yay!

Have you ever written something a bit different from your normal ie sci-fi or historical?

Yes, I have! Passion Awakened is a story that I had so much fun creating. It’s a contemporary with sci-fi elements about a man from the future who’s chasing a criminal back through time. Something goes wrong and he finds himself trapped our current time. I LOVED this story!

 I’ve read this and I LOVED it too.

Have you planned or any ideas for your next book?

I’m currently in the middle of writing something that’s a little new for me, and I hope you guys will love it. It’s a New Adult, m/m contemporary novel for Entangled Publishing. I’m having a lot of fun bringing these two guys together, and I can’t wait until I can reveal a blurb to everyone.

You are on a long-haul flight, whose book would you buy at the airport to read and why?

Karen Marie Moning is probably on the top of the list of my go-to authors. I love the way she builds sexual chemistry and tension between her characters (especially in her Highlander series). So I’m sure if there is something on the shelf by her, I’ll be snatching it up.

If you threw an intimate dinner party and could choose your guest list, whom would you invite and why?

Living or dead? I would give anything to bring my mother, grandmother, and my husband’s mother back completely healthy for just one more meal together. It would be so wonderful if they could meet our son.

Any advice that you have learnt from personal experience that you would like to share with someone thinking about writing their first novel?

Do it only if you love the craft and it’s truly your passion. This business is tough, and you have to possess a thick skin. The market right now is very crowded and making a living being an author is a hard road. But if you truly love creating and writing, don’t give up! And remember, not everyone will be in love with your work. Drink in those positive reviews and don’t let the critics bring you down.

Trolls and pirating play a big part in an author’s life, which is really sad. What would you to say to them if you could? 

Oh my… This business is tough enough without those out there who feel is okay to steal an author’s work and give it away. If they only know how many hours of blood, sweat, and tears we put into every story we create. The amount of time we sacrifice with our family’s while we revise, edit, and market. But do I really think if they knew that it would make a difference? Unfortunately, absolutely not. ​

You have a private and closed group on FB, can you tell us a bit about it and how a reader could become a member?

Sure! It’s Jessica and Naima’s Saints and Sinners Street Team! https://www.facebook.com/groups/376601019163211/

We welcome everyone to come on over and join us, authors included. J Naima and I are all about having a good time with Man Flesh Monday and Tattoo Tuesday as just an example of the crazy debauchery going on in there. lol  Plus we do have the occasional giveaways and teasers being handed out. So please feel free to join in on the fun!

Is their anything else you would like to tell our readers today?

Thank you all for taking the time to stop by and check out my interview. I hope you’ll join me on Facebook when you can. I enjoy getting to know and hang out with my readers! And thank you Lorraine for the opportunity to be interviewed. You were wonderful, and it was a blast! Whoo-hoo!

Jessica, thank you for giving up your precious time today, we really appreciate it. Before you go however, what is the best way for a reader to contact you if they have a question or to find your full book list to purchase a book?

Great idea, here you go:

My website with all my current releases: http://jessicaleenovels.com/

My email and Free Newsletter is listed under Contacts

Facebook profile: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100005193961330

Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/jessicaleenovels/

 

3 thoughts on “INTERVIEW: JESSICA LEE

  1. Jessica Lee 04/20/2016 / 10:19 PM

    Thank you so much for hosting me today, Lorraine on your gorgeous blog! I had a wonderful time “chatting” with you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • fede1974 04/20/2016 / 10:45 PM

      Thank you so much for your time, it’s a great interview

      Like

    • llesarlorraine 04/20/2016 / 11:51 PM

      Awww Jessica, the pleasure was all mine and thank you for allowing me the opportunity. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

