REVIEW: “A KIND OF ROMANCE” by Lane Hayes

a-kind-of-romance
TITLE: A Kind of Romance
AUTHOR: Lane Hayes
COVER ARTIST: Aaron Anderson
PUBLISHER: Dreampsinner Press
GENRE:  Contemporary
E-BOOK: yes
PRICE: $ 6.99 e-book on Dreamspinner store
LENGTH: 234 pages
RELEASE DATE: 6th June 2016

 

BLURB: A Kind of Story

Zeke Gulden is a ruthless Wall Street exec. His hard-edged, no-nonsense attitude has served him well in the cutthroat business world, but less so in his personal life. When he finds out his ex-boyfriend cheated on him with a coworker, Zeke can’t let go—not until he finds a way to get even. However, his meddlesome father has other ideas. The new hire at the family-owned bagel store is somewhat colorful, but his dad is sure he’s the perfect man for Zeke.

Benny Ruggieri is a fiercely proud New Yorker who dreams of making it big as a costume designer in the theater. In the meantime, he’s working two part-time jobs in the food biz. When his new boss sets him up with his successful son, Benny has zero expectations. If nothing else, he figures he can entertain himself by making the uptight businessman squirm. Instead, the two become unlikely friends with an inexplicable attraction they can’t ignore. Benny might be the one to help Zeke set aside his quest for revenge, if he’s willing to let go and forgive what he can’t forget… and give in to an unexpected kind of romance.

 

12833361_10205887579250242_1339245014_nA Kind of Romance is absolutely my kind of romance, which means it’s not romantic in the traditional way, more like a down-to-earth, sarcastic, realistic, a bit awkward, but utterly heartwarming way. I’m a big Lane Hayes fan, which means I’ve read everything written by her, and I realized this one is my favorite story of hers so far. The book gave me a few hours of absolute bliss and I loved every page of it.

I fell in love with the story right away. The writing is flawless as always, the plot flowing effortlessly, the characters well-built, their unique connection, and the slow build-up of their relationship are perfectly paced and structured. My heart just got all warm and fuzzy, and I was taken to reader’s heaven with the unmistakable feeling of contentment which you get when reading an unforgettable story. I felt home. I felt the story was playing the strings of my heart beautifully, giving me a truly amazing reading experience.

First I enjoyed Benny’s flamboyant, bright personality, the way he put Zeke off kilter so easily. Then I got to know Zeke bit by bit and understood him a lot more, seeing his personality in a new light. Both characters are wonderfully written, their deepening feelings, their over the top sizzling chemistry and the emotional layer creates an unforgettable love story. I read the book in one sitting and made myself slow down because I never wanted it to end.

Family plays an important role in everyone’s life one way or another, be it supporting or a struggle. I love the way the author handles the touchy subject of family conflicts and complications. It was truly heartwarming and heartbreaking at times. This book has the most amazing first kiss I’ve read for a long time and there’s one scene with a piano and some singing that was the most beautifully created romantic moment I have read in my whole life. Highly recommended!

FIVE BEAUTIFUL ROMANTIC STARS

infinito 5e

 

**** The ARC was provided by Dreamspinner Press in Exchange of an honest review.****

 

Leave a Reply

