REVIEW: “COVER ME” by Max Walker

516tZGMHKlL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

TITLE: Cover me
AUTHOR: Max Walker
PUBLISHER: Walker Press
GENRE: Romance
SERIES: The Guardian Series book 1
E-BOOK: Yes
PRICE: $ 2.99 e-book on Amazon
LENGHT: 174 pages
RELEASE DATE: 24th May 2016

 

BLURB: “I’m not that same kid anymore, Adrian. I’m a grown ass man that knows what he wants”

Tristan Cole made a mistake. He thought he could have his happily-ever-after with his best friend and soon to be partner in the FBI. He underestimated how much of an effect shame could have on a person. Years later, Tristan finds himself in trouble again when a car accident causes the drug kingpin he was after to slip through his fingers.

“I can give myself to you in ways I only dreamed about.”

Adrian Hawk has been running his whole life. Being raised under the shadow of a highly religious father meant his feelings for other men had to be buried deep in his soul. The shame of his passion caused him to push Tristan away, the one man who could make him truly complete.

“I’ve got you covered.”

Tristan and Adrian find themselves thrown together to stop the King Cartel before they pull off a terrorist attack on US soil. Time is of the essence, so when old feelings start to resurface, both of them must face their past before it becomes a distraction. Can they manage to get over their old scars in time or will their feelings cost them both more than they could have ever imagined?

 

lorraine

I’m a romance reader, the romance is always the front runner for me, but this time I have to say that though the romance was sensationally hot (sizzling, slow burn hot), the suspenseful storyline ran parallel alongside it – both held me riveted.

When I think of Max Walker, I immediately think sci-fi, but that would be limiting the talent of the author and this book proved it.  It was the perfect stage to host his talent as a writer and when it was over, I was on my feet applauding, calling for an encore.

He was clever, he choose two very topical subjects at that moment – religious bigotry and terrorism.  Dynamic and controversial subjects coming together to make addictive reading.

For Adrian, it was wrong.  It had been drummed into him by his despot of a father from a young age, all his longings, his dreams and his wants, were morally wrong, he would never have the man he wanted so very much.

For Tristan, it was so right, but so fu*ked up at the same time.  He’d been in love with his best friend Adrian for years, trying to hide it, until that night.  Too much celebrating getting into the FBI, too much to drink and too much of a moment, that ended with….a kiss.  Adrian walked out that night and hadn’t seen Tristan since, now both have to work together to stop a drug king come terrorist, from blowing up innocent people in an act of revenge.  They have to find Francisco King, stop him and move on, back to the lives they have created since that fateful night, but can they?  Is it that simple?  Can Tristan get through Adrian’s barrier that has dominated him most of his life?

The author gave us one hell of a ride, that included bigotry, terrorism, suspense, double-cross and most of all, love.

Great start to this new series and I look forward to reading book 2 when it’s available.

Five, big, fat stars from me.

infinito 5e

****I would like to thank the author for the opportunity and privilege of reviewing this ARC. My opinions of this book, were entirely my own.****

One thought on “REVIEW: “COVER ME” by Max Walker

Leave a Reply

