REVIEW: “OVERRIDE” by SJD Peterson

override

TITLE: Override
AUTHOR: SJD Peterson
SERIES: An Underground Club Tale – book 1
PUBLISHER: Dreamspinner Press
COVER ARTIST: Ronaldo Gutierrez
COVER DESIGN: Paul Richmond
GENRE: Contemporary
E-BOOK: Yes
PRICE: $ 6.99 e-book  on Dreamspinner Press Store
LENGHT: 200 pages
RELEASE DATE: 31st August 2016

 

BLURB: Don’t judge a book by its cover….

At over six feet, with a body honed in the gym, auto worker Donavan Gregory is used to people assuming he’s a dominant top. Unfortunately, they’re wrong, and Donavan’s desire to explore his submissive side goes unfulfilled.

Smaller and older than Donavan, Dr. Seth Manning might not look like a typical Dominant, but when the two men meet at Pride, Donavan realizes Seth might be his perfect counterpart. The trouble is, Donavan doesn’t have as much experience with the BDSM world as he’d like. What could an educated, handsome, and confident man like Seth possibly see in someone like him? Seth must convince him that despite the differences on the surface, when it comes to kinky fun and discovery, they’ll fit together just fine.

 

12833361_10205887579250242_1339245014_nOverride is An Underground Club Tale, and what a story it is. Those of you who have read my reviews before know that I like my stories with a good build-up, well portrayed characters, good chemistry, and bare minimum angst. This is exactly what I got here and I read it in one sitting, enjoying every page. I am perfectly aware of how writers don’t like to be hurried and rushed so I’m whispering… I can’t wait to read the upcoming books.

This is a very simple story of two guys who meet at Pride, feel a very strong, instant attraction towards each other, realize they share the same kind of kinks and decide to explore them together, learning about themselves and the other, getting to know each other in every way possible. I really liked both characters and the way their relationship was forming. Donovan is young and he is just starting to accept and understand his desire to be dominated. His insecurities are real and very well written. I truly loved how Seth could get him out of his shell, how he could make him see the beauty of their mutual desire.

That being said I have to tell you the only thing that made a wonderful five star story a four in this case. Everything that’s written down is perfect. Well built, entertaining and heartwarming. However, I feel that certain parts are missing. Very important parts. I do not want to spoil the fun, and it might be just me, but I would have liked to read more BDSM scenes. There are motives appearing throughout the story that are not explored. I would have liked to read more about how their connection was deepening through some heavier scenes together. The story is complete and round, don’t get me wrong, I just miss some more kinky fun. It would have given the plot some more spice.

I will definitely reread this story in the future and can’t wait for the upcoming Underground Club Tales. Don’t mind my stars, this book is highly recommended!!!

infinito 4

**** The ARC was provided by Dreamspinner Press in exchange of an honest review.****

 

Leave a Reply

