REVIEW: “THE WEIGHT OF IT ALL” by N.R. Walker

511rihlcyhl

TITLE: The Weight Of It All
AUTHOR: N.R. Walker
PUBLISHER: BlueHeart Press
COVER ARTIST: Sara York
GENRE: Contemporary
E-BOOK: Yes
PRICE: $ 3.99 e-book on Amazon
LENGHT: 244 pages
RELEASE DATE: 12nd September 2016

 

BLURB: After being dumped by his long-term boyfriend for being overweight, Henry Beckett decides to make some drastic changes. In a vain attempt at getting his boyfriend back, Henry does the most absurdly frightening thing he can think of.
He joins a gym.
Reed Henske is a personal trainer who isn’t sure he’ll ever be ready to date again. He’s sick of guys who are only interested in the perfect body image, never seeing him for who he really is.
As Reed tortures Henry with things like diet and exercise, Henry enamours Reed with recipes and laughter. As the friendship lines start to blur, Henry is convinced there’s no way Thor-like Reed could ever be interested in a guy like him.
Reed just has to convince Henry that life isn’t about reaching your ideal bodyweight. It’s about finding your perfect counterweight.

 

FedericaRight from the very start, Henry and I had something in common, something we could both identify with.  After a 8 year relationship, he breaks up with his boyfriend and now feels fat.  So he decides to enrol in a gym.  So what does he have in common with me?  Well, after a 10 year relationship, I broke up with my boyfriend and though not fat, my curves could do with a bit of trimming, so I also enrolled in a gym.
We are two peas in a pod (or should that be two bodies in the same gym towels? lol) so I could identify with him and his life – the nostalgia of the relationship in which you were totally committed and realised that it takes two commitments, not just one to make it work.  At first, I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry but that soon changed.  I laughed and laughed and you will too.
The magic of the book is Henry.  He is just so much fun, he’s genuine and a really nice person as well but he feels inadequate in so many ways.  Firstly, he sees himself as fat (like me, he loves his food and wine) and if that is not enough, his horrific ex-boyfriend succeeded in lowering his self esteem to virtually nothing by suggesting that Henry is socially unacceptable (he does have a tendency not to filter when he speaks) and therefore not to speak to his co-worker!  What an asshole….
Reed is his Personal Trainer at the gym he joins.  Immediately Henry determines to himself that Reed is out of his league, but that’s not the case at all.  They fit and fit well and the more time they spend together, the more natural it becomes.
Henry begins to understand that his previous relationship wasn’t what he thought it was –

“I thought I was happy, but I’m pretty sure that I was just comfortable.  I was     happy just knowing he was a constant thing, but we didn’t have a relationship. We had a mutually agreeable companionship”

Of course Henry’s complexes are not easy to overcome, but there was support and great sub characters to show Henry the way.  He finally understands that prejudices go both ways and maybe that Reed is not what he first thought, he is different.
If you are looking for a modern fairytale, that’s really sweet with no angst, then this is the book for you.  You know that N.R. Walker is a must read for me and this book proves why.
Now there is only one very important thing missing, like Henry, I want my own very personal Personal Trainer…..off to the gym to find one, wish me luck xx

infinito 5e

****I would like to thank the Author for the opportunity and privilege of reading this ARC. My review was an honest opinion of the book****

 

 

Leave a Reply

