REVIEW: “UNLOCKED” by H.C. Brown

51gjoljakwl

TITLE: Unlocked
AUTHOR: H.C. Brown
SERIES: The Slayers – book 1
PUBLISHER: Momentum
GENRE: Erotic – BDSM
E-BOOK: Yes
PRICE: $ 2.95 e-book on Amazon Store
LENGHT: 161 pages
RELEASE DATE: 23rdt October 2014

BLURB: The Special Ops genetic experiments were designed to create super soldiers, not sex-addicted doms.

When Delano Briggs, BDSM club owner and volunteer firefighter, is called to aid in the evacuation of a burning New York hotel, he thinks it’s just another job.

But after rescuing the irresistibly sexy Chanze, he learns that behind the velvet curtains of the five-star hotel is one of the most exclusive, and immoral, prostitution rings in the country. For the men at the Cloister aren’t merely lovers for hire, but genetically enhanced sex slaves, created to provide the brothel’s rich clientele with the most insatiable doms and delicious subs.

Kept against his will by the doomsday chip implanted in his brain, Chanze sees no chance of escape. Until Delano and his three fellow super-enhanced operatives infiltrate the club for a walk on the wild side.

 

lorraine

     ****WARNING:  This book should carry more red flags/tags than bunting at a fete****

 Ok, I may have been a bit facetious on the fete reference, but I want to be crystal clear on this, this is not family reading – it’s hard-core BDSM erotica.

Now everyone who reads my reviews knows that I’m Queen of Fluff, erotica is not to my taste and yet I read this, with no fluff or sweet romantic romance on offer from H.C. Brown. If she wrote to shock, then she succeeded as she shocked the hell out of me!

The attraction for me was the sci-fi element of the storyline – genetic experimentation on soldiers to create SuperSoldiers. Throw in a mad scientist who tweets the enhancements to produce pain loving sex slaves to work in his exclusive BDSM Club, where his rich clientele will pay a fortune to have their every perverse sexual fantasy fulfilled, was ingeniously thought out by the author, especially with the insta- love element with other enhanced soldiers.

At first I was really getting into it, even though the human trafficking aspect of it left a foul taste in my mouth. But then, for me anyway, the storyline got bogged down with too many characters, it was hard to keep up with who-was-who-and-who-with?  I would have preferred to have concentrated on just two main MCs and their journey to be together with a hint of who was going to get the next story and with whom, but that’s my opinion, you may differ?

The dub-con aspect was another thing that didn’t enhance my reading, if anything, it left another foul taste in my mouth but this is hard-hitting erotica and therefore latitude must be given and it will appeal to more of the purist erotica reader.

If I was to rate purely on the clever sci-fi storyline that the author thought up, it would be a straight 5* but as I have to take into account the hard-core play (and this really wasn’t “play” but abuse) and the overcrowding of insta-love, it’s 4* from me.

When I decide to venture back into the world of erotica, H.C. Brown will be my first port of call, I want to see what else she can shock me with?

 

infinito 4

 

 

One thought on “REVIEW: “UNLOCKED” by H.C. Brown

Leave a Reply

