REVIEW: “DARE TO HOPE” by Caitlin Ricci and Kara Nash

dare-to-hope

TITLE: Dare to Hope
AUTHOR: Caitlin Ricci and Kara Nash
SERIES: Dare – Book 2
PUBLISHER: Dreamspinner Press
COVER ARTIST: Anna Sikorska
GENRE: Contemporary
E-BOOK: Yes
PRICE: $ 6,99 e-book on Dreamspinner Press Store
LENGHT: 250 pages
RELEASE DATE: 11th November 2016

 

BLURB: Christophori Romanoff is an expert at being the perfect son for his homophobic father. But maintaining the facade comes with a heavy price, and when he swears off anonymous sex and getting drunk every night, he needs his friends more than ever. Only he’s convinced they’re busy with their own lives and better off without his interference. On the surface Chris is fine, but underneath the expensive suit and the law degree he got only to please his father, he’s breaking apart from the pressure, and he falls back on his oldest—and most dangerous—coping mechanism.

Samuel Mealamu hoped to hear from Chris soon after their last good-bye in Montana, but as the months go by without a word, he realizes what they started was one-sided. Still, he worries about the destructive path Chris was on and hopes the silence means he’s doing better. But nearly a year later, Chris finally calls, and it’s obvious he’s in trouble. Samuel thinks he’s seen Chris at his worst, but this new, far more broken man might be too much for even Samuel to help.

12833361_10205887579250242_1339245014_nThis book was sooo not what I had expected. Dare to Hope is the second story in the Dare series. Although it might be read as a standalone, I highly recommend you to start with the first book where we meet all six main characters and get a feel of their connections and unique friendships.

In the first story we witness how Bran and Kaden fall in love with each other and how the six MCs meet and get to know each other. We continue the storyline eight months after we left off and our main focus is Chris and Samuel and their unordinary relationship. When I said this was not what I expected I meant Chris and Samuel’s characters. This story was a lot heavier than I thought it would be. Most of the time I felt it was a drama rather than a romantic love story. I often felt a bit out of place and found that some of the guys, especially Bran, acted totally out of character for me. I not only wanted to strangle him a few times, but I truly was on the verge of stopping reading but the writers always pulled me back from the ledge and I’m happy they did, cos the last part of the story was totally worth the emotional roller coaster I had to endure. The only two characters I really liked all the way are Chris and Trent. I could have kissed Trent to speak my mind a few times!!! I really can’t wait to read his story with Misha.

I’m sure the writers had their purpose with all the conflicts and fights but given the seriousness of the subject matter it was painful to read all the messed up behavior and disastrous reactions. Samuel wasn’t my favorite either and his chemistry with Chris and their feelings towards each other faded and got lost sometimes for me. There are still lots of fun moments, and as Shakespeare knows best, all’s well that ends well.


infinito 3 e mezzo

****The ARC was provided by Dreamspinner Press.  My review is an honest opinion of the book****

Leave a Reply

