REVIEW: “DEVOUR” by Jocelynn Drake & Rinda Elliott

TITLE: Devour
AUTHOR: Jocelynn Drake & Rinda Elliott
SERIES: Unbreakable Bonds Series – book 4
PUBLISHER: CreateSpace
COVER ARTIST: Stephen Drake
GENRE: Contemporary
E-BOOK: Yes
PRICE: $ 4.62 e-book on Amazon
LENGHT: 249 pages
RELEASE DATE: 28th April 2017

 

BLURB: Ian Pierce is the chef and part owner of the hottest restaurant in Cincinnati, his chosen family is full of happy relationships, and the scruffy, snarky cop who has been haunting his dreams is one step closer to being in his bed. But everything comes crashing down when the past he narrowly escaped nine years ago comes to a deadly head.

Hollis Banner was enamored of Ian at first sight. He’s kept his distance, knowing the gorgeous, self-confident man is out of his league. Yet there’s no standing aside when Boris Jagger escapes a raid. Jagger’s world has been nearly destroyed and this time, the crime boss is coming after Ian and his friends personally.

Hollis will do whatever it takes to keep Ian safe as they escape to a safe house with a couple of Ian’s overprotective friends. And Ian finds himself in a race to unlock painful memories—memories containing information that could take down the very last of Jagger’s illegal operations forever.

 

FedericaFirstly I want to say that this is a really wonderful Series and I have loved every book.  Each book was based on one of four friends – Lucas, Snow, Rowe and Ian.  This book is Ian’s story.
I’ll be honest and say that Ian has never been one of my favourites, he’s been too much in the shadows with his friends in the other books but my curiosity was roused and I was looking forward to finding out his story.
We already knew bits about him from the other books – how they all became friends and Ian’s tragic past (which had already shredded my heart to pieces) but despite everything that had happened, he was not only strong and positive but a wonderful character as well.
So as I have said, I was looking forward to finding out more about him and hopefully keeping my heart whole in the process as this time, I was prepared.
But I wasn’t……..
I don’t want to go down the spoiler route, because I feel that this is the type of book you need to go in blind and read the storyline unprepared, but I will say this……I lost count the number of times I almost had a heart attack, the twists and turns of the storyline continued until the very last page, I was on the edge of my seat.  Yes, it’s full of action but also it’s full of love as well, this book like all the others in the Series, is simply amazing.
The two authors are also amazing and very talented.  But I will say as well,  that they are also diabolical!!! they put us readers and their characters through so much, but I may forgive them in time because Ian and Hollis are just perfect together.
The thought that this is the last book in the Series is shattering, it’s going to be so hard to let go of these guys but we have Rowe and Noah’s and Ian and Hollis’s short stories to look forward to.


****I would like to thank the author for the privilege and opportunity of reading this ARC.  My review is an honest opinion of the book****

Leave a Reply

